Getting over blogging pressure and writing a few words about something I made that tasted good.

The time has come to stop dilly-dallying about, perceiving an invisible choice between a) long hours of procrastination spent trying to be witty and b) the inevitable descent into regretful, work-induced, unmitigated blogging silence.

So here is a photo of a yummy thing I made – a strawberry tart, courtesy of the wonderful Dan Lepard, with short sweet pastry whose hints of almond and brandy perfectly accompany ripe juicy strawberries and vanilla cream filling.

And here are a few undemanding, un-witty words to complement said photo…On a summer’s day in what I always thought was a perpetually rainy Manchester, Andy Murray, who I refused to like until he cried at last year’s final, bounces around on the television, preparing to win Wimbledon 2013. In parallel I prepare a table in front of the telly at which I sit rubbing butter into flour. A strawberry tart – what better way to keep nerves at bay during a potential “first British win at Wimbledon in 77 years” (first, that is, if you ignore, as most commentators have, 1977 ladies champion Virginia Wade).

I’ve almost written enough words to start feeling the blogging pressure return: so I’ll end by saying that we ate the tart sitting on the balcony with prosecco.

It tasted jolly good.

20130708-154018.jpg

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. This looks delicious and I want it and I am pouting unbecomingly at the screen because I don’t have it. Still, I know what to look for once I’ve stopped pouting and want to find the recipe for the tart. Thank you for sharing!

    I babysit a student of your sister; Madeleine told me about your food blog so I’ve been waiting for the opportunity to introduce myself. So: hello! I am Pear, and I also think that things taste better in small houses. I currently cook in a tiny London flat the size of a wardrobe. Good to see other keen cooks and bloggers making the most of their small spaces 😀

    Reply
  2. JB

     /  July 10, 2013

    “…what better way to keep nerves at bay during a potential “first British win at Wimbledon in 77 years” (first, that is, if you ignore, as most commentators have, 1977 ladies champion Virginia Wade).”

    Virginia Wade was an excellent tennis player, but strangely she never won the Men’s Singles, which most commentators have made pretty clear is what they are discussing in relation to the 77 year statistic.

    I fear Virginia doesn’t even hold the title of last British win at Wimbledon; that would be Jonathan Marray (Men’s Doubles 2012), preceded then by Greg Rusedski (Gentlemen’s Invitational Doubles 2012), George Morgan (Boys’ Doubles 2011), Liam Broady and Tom Farquharson (Boys’ Doubles 2010), Jeremy Bates (Senior Gentlemen’s Invitational Doubles 2009), Laura Robson (Girls’ Singles 2008), Jaime Murray (Mixed Doubles 2007), Jeremy Bates (Senior Gentlemen’s Invitational Doubles 2007) etc. etc. etc.

    Back on subject, the strawberry tart look rather good!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

