Week 1: Biscotti

Almond and Pistachio Biscotti

We went to Starbucks. We ate Biscotti. I thought, ‘I can do better than that’. I couldn’t, really, but maybe I will next time.

My baking adventures can be found anywhere on the spectrum of easy–hard–plain–spectacular. Most would probably be frowned upon by Mary Berry and ridiculed by Paul Hollywood but my friends seem to appreciate them. This weekend my girlfriend and I went to Starbucks. Often a mistake. We ate biscotti and I thought ‘I can do better than this’. I couldn’t, really, but maybe I will next time.  After relentless recipe searching, I hone my biscotti-mission with as much exactitude as the abstract my girlfriend is writing (I don’t feel guilty interrupting her because I’m sure the delicious result will be a productivity-booster later on). I decide on a recipe by a Theo Randall. He’s appeared on MasterChef so his recipe must be trustworthy.

It isn’t. I have to alter both the oven temperature and the cooking time, and my girlfriend has to put up with yet another flap from me that extends this “very quick bake, I promise” to an afternoon-long feat. These twice-baked biscuits aren’t quite dry enough (I’m slow to learn the science of baking but I think the oven temperature should have been higher from the very beginning) but they taste really good. If you want to read (and adapt) the very same recipe (I wouldn’t), you can find it here: http://www.greatbritishchefs.com/recipes/biscotti-recipe

Later we sit down with wine and a superb middle-eastern chicken dish full of almonds and cream and rose-water and clove that has been cooked for me from Yotam Ottolenghi’s column in this week’s Saturday Guardian: http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/2012/oct/05/ottolenghi-recipes-doughnuts-cardamom-chicken. Pudding is biscotti dipped in Bailey’s. We watch Fatal Attraction, which has been on the LoveFilm list since we got addicted to Glenn Close in Damages. We almost immediately regret it, and spend half the running time looking online trying to find that interview where Glenn admits to regretting having made such an appallingly misogynistic movie. We can’t find it. Maybe that was just wishful thinking on our part, and Glenn regrets her error as little as Theo regrets giving me a near baking nightmare with the not-biscotti-y-enough biscotti. I probably should have gone with Nigella (for baking and viewing – BBC2’s Nigellissima is filthy and fantastic).

As for those other ingredients that add to the general flavour of a weekend’s bake-off, I’ve already confessed this week’s film-watching ordeal. I’ve just finished Jeanette Winterson’s Why Be Happy When You Can Be Normal? and, inspired to keep with the ‘literary non-fiction’, am now reading Mary Cappello’s Called Back: My Reply to Cancer, My Return to Life. As we baked / cooked / worked (or tried to), we listened to Opera on 3: Mozart’s Die Zauberflöte live from the 2012 Salzburg Festival, conducted by Nikolaus Harnoncourt (he’s 82!). Listen again at http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b006tnpy

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Your blog is very charming and I like the meditative tone to your writing. Happy biscotti-ing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

