Week 0: Small Houses

This is what we fondly call our kitchen.

I really love to bake. I could have written a blog about films. Or about doing my PhD (something along the lines of feminism – lesbianism – cinema). Or about what book I’m reading. Or what music I’m listening to. But if I’m really honest, what I love to talk about is food. And my baking therapy tends to fold in a lot of the joys and stresses of that other stuff anyway. And the best blogs, I think, have photos. And I’d rather show you photos of the pretty things I’ve baked this weekend than the 3 sentences I’ve managed to string together or the same old theoretical text I’m still trying to work my way through.

My house (flat) really is pretty small. We call it the “Pod”. There’s the “Pad” too but that’s another story. The bare-minimum “kitchen”, with its mini utilities and meagre workspace, is a single pace away from my desk. Said desk is the trendiest piece of furniture I’ve ever bought, and the piece to which I have devoted more space than anything else in the flat (it has in fact been erroneously used as an extra work surface in the past, and boasts a mood-enhancing bread-knife stab that reminds me of happy evenings with wonderful friends). So my culinary adventures really do feel like an extension of my intellectual ones. Or that’s what I tell myself, anyway.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Nigel Cheffers-Heard

     /  October 9, 2012

    Glad it’s not just me who looks wistfully upon the furniture scars whilst the memories flood back. Great writing about small subjects is an art. Keep it up!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

